This is an Experiment and you are my Guinea Pigs

Oh, I know–life is an experiment.  But this, believe me, is not that deep.  Here and now my experiment is with a new, more personal blog and with WordPress.  Some of you may know me from my other blog, Ramona’s Voices, but already I’m meeting new readers and I want them (and you) to know that whatever mistakes I make here and whatever changes you notice as we go along are most likely because I’m a WordPress newbie.  I don’t know if WordPress hates all newbies, but they’re made it very clear that they’ve hated me from Day One and they will never stop.  (As opposed to Blogger, where they made me feel right at home from the very first blogging moment.  So why am I here?  I don’t know yet.  As I said, it’s an experiment.)

I’ve changed the header (the banner, that picture at the top, whatever. . .) at least six times now, and I keep losing the place where I can make the word changes that go along with changing the banner title thingy, and now the banner says one thing but something called the “tagline” (I think) says something else.

A few minutes ago the black space in the banner picture read “Life in the middle of it”, but I realized that I’m far beyond the middle of my life, sliding as I am toward that great white light with dizzying speed.  It didn’t apply.  So I changed “middle” to “midst” and that seemed about right, but now, again, I can’t find that place where the description fits the picture so I can change one simple damn word.

The reason I’m bothering you with this is that I just Googled “Constant Commoner” to see if I was there yet and I see to my horror that every single manifestation of this blog is there in full view.  Every single one, from the day I started it, thinking I would change “Ramona’s Voices” to “Constant Commoner” and got talked out of it (thankfully), to yesterday, the day before today, when I decided to change the banner one more time.

Is there nothing private anymore?  Can’t a person make a half dozen mistakes without the whole world (or a few viewers) watching, snickering, throwing up their hands, not wanting to have anything more to do with that crazy blogger?

I’m begging you–don’t Google “Constant Commoner” ever.   It’s a train wreck, but some time soon things will calm down and return to the kind of normal that may not be everybody’s cup of tea, but is mine, all mine.

I sort of half-promise.

Mona

About Ramona Grigg

Ramona Grigg. Freelancer, blogger, essayist, photographer, dreamer,
This entry was posted in Just information, On Writing and Media and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to This is an Experiment and you are my Guinea Pigs

  1. Nedra Dinger says:

    It all looks good to me. Very peaceful. Mistakes and starts and false-starts, all building to to this and I am thinking it is looking and sounding good. I enjoyed the commentary on setting this up, for sure.

  2. Thanks, Nedra. It’s becoming only slightly clearer but I’ll keep working on it. This will be my last complaint (I hope.) I really am enjoying writing about other things, along with the politics.

    Glad to have some company. . .

Leave a Reply

