A November Challenge: Let’s See If I Can Do This

I’ve been feeling totally undisciplined lately.  Even more than usual, if that’s possible.  I need to get back on track, and–let’s face it–anybody?–I need to get some people over here to do more than just knock on my door.  I want them to come in.  The prevailing notion is that the more you blog the more they will come, and who am I to argue?

nablopomo_november_smallSo a few minutes ago I bit the bullet and joined a group of writers who have promised to blog every day during the month of November.  This zany venture is called NaBloPoMo.  (Crazy, huh? It stands for National Blog Posting Month) It’s the lazy writer’s not-quite-equivalent of NaNoWriMo, that w-a-a-a-y more ambitious exercise where you’re committed to writing 1600 words a day for 30 days, hopefully finding yourself holding the guts of a 200-page novel by the end of the month.

But back to NaBloPoMo, which is more my speed.  What I’ve signed up for shouldn’t be that hard if only I can remember to do it every day.  I don’t know what the penalty is if I don’t–I’m guessing it’ll have something to do with wet noodles–but if I can remember to do it, I could be up for one of the top prizes through BlogHer, the official sponsor:  An Ipad Mini or a  BlogHer ’14 Conference pass. (Cool!)  Not holding my breath, however.  There were already a few hundred signees ahead of me.

But more important, it’ll get me writing here every day and it may even mean I’ll get some company because of it.  The rules say you can write about anything you want and it doesn’t even have to be all that good.  Eden Kennedy (great name!), the founder of NaBloPoMo, just wants to get everyone writing and this was her brainchild.  Applause!  Applause!

But let me throw a little cold water on this, even though I’ve already agreed to do it.  Who wants to go to someone’s blog every day just to read any old junk put out there just to satisfy the rules of a contest?  Sounds like a recipe for disaster to me.   I won’t put out junk.  That’s why I don’t post here that often.  I have to have something interesting to write about, and then I have to tweak it and hone it and shine it up right before I’ll put it out for publication.  I drive myself crazy.  I want everyone else to do the same.

The reason I want everyone else to do the same is because blogging is already the red-headed stepchild of the writing world.  We get no respect.  We have to be good. Better than good. (I don’t care what you had for breakfast, unless you’re The Pioneer Woman, in which case you’ll get me to read more.)

But I’ve agreed to do it and I’ll give it my best.  I’ll write a post every day for a month.  I may cheat some days when I’m too busy to give it my all.  I may use photographs or quotes or jokes or cartoons, but it’ll be here and it’ll be every day and it won’t be junk.  (I’m putting this in writing so I’ll take it seriously.)

So here I go.  This is today’s.  We’ll see what tomorrow brings.  (If, at any point, you get tired of this and you drop out, try to do it quietly so I won’t notice.  Okay?)

Ramona

(Day one of the NaBloPoMo.  Can I really do it?)

About constantcommoner

Ramona Grigg. Freelancer, blogger, essayist, photographer, dreamer,
This entry was posted in Just for Fun, NaBloPoMo, On Writing and Media and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

