The Good and Bad of Daily Blogging

Since blogging is on my mind today, let me just say right off the bat, blogging every day just to be blogging every day is pretty dumb.  (Yet, here I am, doing it.  But only for a month. I mean it.  Only for a month.)  There are thousands, maybe millions, of great blogs, I’m sure, but there are millions, maybe billions, of truly bad blogs, and I have a feeling the bad blogs are owned by bloggers who think the worst thing that could happen to them would be to find themselves at the end of the day without having pushed the “publish” button on their blog.

I had an aunt–a lovely person–who had the unfortunate habit of saying out loud every single thought that popped into her head.  To say we ran from her when we saw her coming is a whopping understatement.  If we got caught, we knew, before it was over, what she bought at the grocery store, how much each item cost, which items she picked up but decided not to buy, why she chose one item over another, which cashier was lucky enough to get her in their line, what her final bill came to, what time of day it was, how wobbly the wheel was on her cart, who she ran into while she was there, how long it took her to shop, and where she parked her car in the parking lot.

The poor woman needed a life.  We all felt sorry for her, but not for the reasons she might have thought.  That’s the way I feel about some bloggers.  They mean well, but somewhere along the line they missed the warning about the minutiae of daily life:  It’s deadly to anyone but themselves.

That’s not to say writing about things that happen in our lives should be verboten.  Not at all.  Some of the best personal blogs are written by women who manage to weave magic into the most ordinary days.

Some I’ve come to love:

Ree Drummond’s The Pioneer Woman.  I ran into her years ago when we were both just beginning our blogs.  I was writing Cabin and Camp then and we followed one another.  She went on to become famous while I went on to completely ignore that blog while falling in love with another.  (You might have noticed I’m still not famous.)

Margaret and Helen.  These two are a riot!  Actually, it’s Helen who writes the funny stuff; Margaret is her foil.  They don’t post as often anymore but when they do it’s an event!

Time Goes By.  A blog for us older folks.  Light and fun and very well done.  Love the sequence of her pictures on her banner.

Nutwood Junction.  Beth writes about anything and everything and always manages to make me read right to the very end. 

There are many more but these are enough for now. (I have a whole month of this, don’t forget.)  There are some great blogs out there and I would love to find them all.  If you want to share your favorites here, I’m all for it.

Ramona

(Day 2 of the NaBloPoMo challenge:  (I can finally type NaBloPoMo without having to look at my notepad.  So proud!)

Munising Falls, Upper Peninsula.  This is from our Color tour last year.  We were stopped the gate this year, thanks to the government shutdown.  Grrrr.

The path to Munising Falls, Upper Peninsula. This is from our Color tour last year. We were stopped at the gate this year, thanks to the government shutdown.  Grrrr.

About constantcommoner

Ramona Grigg. Freelancer, blogger, essayist, photographer, dreamer,
This entry was posted in NaBloPoMo, On Writing and Media and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Good and Bad of Daily Blogging

  1. Di says:

    I’m still looking up to see how to spell that NaBlo word … Perhaps I write it down with a pen, or think about what it really means, or something. Anyway, a month of daily posts, good luck 🙂

    Like

  2. sonjaessen says:

    On my. Thanks for introducing me to Margaret and Helen’s blog. What a gem! I’m looking forward to your other posts!

    Like

  3. Beth Riches says:

    Wow, Ramona, thank you so much for linking to my blog! I am flattered that you enjoy it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

